Warning: strpos() expects parameter 1 to be string, array given in /home/content/31/13976631/html/wp-includes/functions.php on line 4263
UFC 128 Results – Jones beats Rua; Faber, Miller, Marquardt, Schaub, Cane, Barboza, Almeida win, Blog | BallHyped Sports Blogs
Skip to Content

UFC 128 Results – Jones beats Rua; Faber, Miller, Marquardt, Schaub, Cane, Barboza, Almeida win

UFC has a new champion all right.

Jon "Bones" Jones pounded Mauricio "Shogun" Rua in the UFC 128 main event Saturday in Newark, N.J., winning the light heavyweight championship with a third-round TKO that made the 23-year-old the youngest champion in UFC history.

Jones dominated from the start, recording his first takedown 30 seconds in, tagging Rua with countless punches and elbows.

For the fight, Jones landed 102 of 142 strikes to 11 of 42 by Rua.

Jones ended the fight with a left hook to the body that put Rua down for good.

In other fights Saturday:

  • In a battled of former WEC champs, Urijah Faber was victorious in his UFC debut, outlasting Eddie Wineland by scores of 29-28.
  • Lightweight contender Jim Miller beat previously unbeaten Kamal Shalorus in the third round, possibly setting up a shot at the UFC lightweight crown as he has now won seen straight bouts.
  • Middleweight contender Nate Marquardt (10-4) defeated Dan Miller in a unanimous decision as all three judges went 30-27.
  • “Ultimate Fighter” finalist Brendan Schaub knocked out Mirko "Cro Cop" Filipovic 3:44 into the third round of the heavyweight bout.
  • Luis Artur Cane Jr. downed another former Ultimate Fighter, Eliot Marshall, in the first round of a preliminary light heavyweight battle.
  • Unbeaten lightweight Edson Barboza Jr. went the distance against Anthony Njokuani and held on for the win as all three judges scored it 29-28.
  • Mike Pyle topped Ricardo Almeida in a unanimous welterweight decision scored 30-27, 30-27 and 29-28.
  • Gleison Tibau took a controversial split decision against Kurt Pellegrino, with two judges scoring it 29-28 in his favor and one going against him by the same score.
  • Joseph Benavidez earned a unanimous decision over Ian Loveland, 30-27, 30-27 and 29-28.
  • Nick Catone also won by unanimous decision over Constantinos Philippou by three scores of 30-27.
  • Erik Koch beat Raphael Assuncao 2:32 into Round 1 for his third-straight win.