Warning: strpos() expects parameter 1 to be string, array given in /home/content/31/13976631/html/wp-includes/functions.php on line 4263
SECOND ROUND UPDATE: Sports Blogs of the Year Tournament, Blog | BallHyped Sports Blogs
Skip to Content

SECOND ROUND UPDATE: Sports Blogs of the Year Tournament

And then there were 32.

The first round is complete, and BallHyped.com's 2011 Sports Blogs of the Year Tournament has entered the second round.

The opening round was filled with comebacks and upsets, with play-in participant and No. 64-seeded thenosebleeds.com pulling off the upset of the tournament when it stunned top-seeded thexlog.com 74-26.

"@TheNoseBleeds congrats on the huge upset," Days of Y'Orr blogger @PezDOY tweeted after the win. "You're the George Mason of BallHyped!"

The upset leaves defending blog of the year EaglesCentral.com (now on Rant Sports) as the favorite to win the NCAA-Tournament-like bracket, where BallHyped member blogs were seeded by the number of posts they had Hyped in 2011.

Other notable winners from the first round included BallHyped regulars such as eyeandeerblog.com, kodyssportskorner.com, daysofyorr.com, doublegsports.com, thepigskinreport.com, phillybuster.com, theshowspeak.com, wahoosonfirst.com and no2minutewarning.com.

The winner of the 64-blog tournament will not only get all the recognition in the blogosphere, and mad props from their peers, but also some BallHyped swag for their efforts.

BallHyped will also promote that blogger's site and main blogger with a post-tournament Q&A.

Second-round action can be voted on through Dec. 25. Below are the rest of the dates for tournament voting:

Tournament Dates

  • Second Round: 16 games (Dec. 23-25)
  • Sweet 16: 8 games (Dec. 26-27)
  • Elite 8: 4 games (Dec. 28-29)
  • Final Four: 2 games (Dec. 30-31)
  • Championship, Consolation: 2 games (Jan. 1-2)