Warning: strpos() expects parameter 1 to be string, array given in /home/content/31/13976631/html/wp-includes/functions.php on line 4263
SWEET 16 UPDATE: 2011 Sports Blogs of the Year Tournament, Blog | BallHyped Sports Blogs
Skip to Content

SWEET 16 UPDATE: 2011 Sports Blogs of the Year Tournament

How sweet it is.

The second round is complete and BallHyped.com's 2011 Sports Blogs of the Year Tournament has entered the Sweet 16.

Like the opening round, the second round was filled with comebacks and upsets, with play-in participant and No. 64-seeded thenosebleeds.com remaining alive with a comeback win over the Big East Coast Bias, 51-49.

While the Philadelphia Eagles are out of contention for the NFL playoffs, second-seeded EaglesCentral.com (now on Rant Sports) remains the top-seeded team alive in this tournament -- holding off LandryLane.com 56-44 in the second round of the NCAA-Tournament-like bracket. BallHyped member blogs are seeded by the number of posts they had Hyped in 2011.

The other big game of the second round came between No2MinuteWarning.com and Turfburner.com, with Turfburner holding on late, 51-49.

Props to @kevinoncfb for a solid tournament run considering the busy time of year for college football and multiple sites he contributes to.

The College Football Examiner, Kevin McGuire, and Jay Beck showed some nice sportsmanship throughout the battle, and it's wasn't a surprise that this one came down to just a vote or two.

@jaybeck12: "And same to u RT @KevinOnCFB: I am up against @jaybeck12 in the @BallHyped Sports Blog of the Year Tournament this rd. Best of luck to him!"

A look at the Sweet 16 qualifiers:

The winner of the 64-blog tournament will not only get all the recognition in the blogosphere, and mad props from their peers, but also some BallHyped swag for their efforts.

BallHyped will also promote that blogger's site and main blogger with a post-tournament Q&A.

Sweet 16 action can be voted on through Dec. 27. Below are the rest of the dates for tournament voting:

Tournament Dates:

  • Sweet 16: 8 games (Dec. 26-27)
  • Elite 8: 4 games (Dec. 28-29)
  • Final Four: 2 games (Dec. 30-31)
  • Championship, Consolation: 2 games (Jan. 1-2)