Skip to Content

Which coach(es) will make his first Super Bowl appearance this year?

Which coach(es) will make his first Super Bowl appearance this year?

Hyped by on January 20, 2013 Website:

New England Patriots coach Bill Belichick is the only coach of the four whose teams are still left in the NFL playoffs that has gone to the Super Bowl. Belichick’s Patriots have made five Super Bowl appearances.

That means that we will have at least one coach making his Super Bowl debut (either Atlanta’s Mike Smith or San Francisco’s Jim Harbaugh), and if John Harbaugh’s Ravens should defeat the Patriots, we will have two coaches making their Super Bowl debuts on February 3.

In the Super Bowl era (since 1966) we have several coaches who have won 70 or more games but have never made it to the Super Bowl. Topping that list is Marty Schottenheimer who has 200 wins but never coached in the Super Bowl.

Following are the coaches with 70 or more wins who have never coached in the Super Bowl. (Note: Only coaches who coached a majority of their games in the Super Bowl era are included. George Halas (318), Curly Lambeau (226) and Paul Brown (213) are just some of the coaches who never won a Super Bowl because there was not a Super Bowl during their coaching careers.)

Voted by:
Voted by tdream20

About BallHyped

BallHyped Sports BlogsFounded by ex-McClatchy Editor Brian Milne (@BMilneSLO) in 2010, BallHyped is a social voting community where sports bloggers and fans share their favorite blogs.

Sign up for free or contact us for more details at or @BallHyped.

BallHyped Member Perks

Top 1,000 Sports Bloggers on Twitter List
Best Blogs Book
Blogger Leaderboard | Blogger List | Blogroll
Blogger Resources and Q&As

General bloggers are encouraged to visit Like beer? Visit