Skip to Content

Will a 25-year-old QB win the Super Bowl XLVII MVP Award?

Will a 25-year-old QB win the Super Bowl XLVII MVP Award?

Hyped by on January 26, 2013 Website:

In the 46-year history of the Super Bowl, we have had 47 players (there were co-MVPs in 1978) who were selected as the MVP of the game. Joe Montana, quarterback of the San Francisco 49ers won three of those awards, most in the game’s history. Four other players won the award twice: Bart Starr, Terry Bradshaw, Tom Brady and Eli Manning, all QBs.

As we take a look at the list of Super Bowl MVPs, several interesting stats evolve:

First, quarterbacks seem to be the primary focus of the Super Bowl MVP award. Of the 47 MVPs, 25 have been QBs. Here’s a position look at the MVPs.

Voted by:
Voted by BallHypedVoted by tdream20

About BallHyped

BallHyped Sports BlogsFounded by ex-McClatchy Editor Brian Milne (@BMilneSLO) in 2010, BallHyped is a social voting community where sports bloggers and fans share their favorite blogs.

Sign up for free or contact us for more details at or @BallHyped.

BallHyped Member Perks

Top 1,000 Sports Bloggers on Twitter List
Best Blogs Book
Blogger Leaderboard | Blogger List | Blogroll
Blogger Resources and Q&As

General bloggers are encouraged to visit Like beer? Visit