Warning: strpos() expects parameter 1 to be string, array given in /home/content/31/13976631/html/wp-includes/functions.php on line 4263
MLB's 19-game winners, MLB | BallHyped Sports Blogs
Skip to Content

MLB’s 19-game winners

MLB’s 19-game winners

Hyped by on July 3, 2014 Website: www.statsontapp.com

One of the goals for most starting pitchers in the majors is to have the kind of season that nets them 20 wins (or more). That 20-win mark seems to be an important milestone each season that notes this pitcher had a “great year.”

Last season saw two pitchers fell one win short of this 20-win mark: St. Louis Cardinals pitcher Adam Wainwright won 19 games in a season for the second time in his career. He has, however, won 20 games in a season, winning 20 in 2010. Washington’s Jordan Zimmerman also won 19 in 2013; he has yet to win 20 in a season.

There have been 192 pitchers who have won 20 or more games in a season. Wainwright last season became the 29th pitcher in history to win 19 in a season two or more times.

Greg Maddux, who will be inducted into baseball’s Hall of Fame this summer, leads MLB pitchers with the most 19-win seasons, five. Here are the four pitchers who have won 19 in a season on three or more occasions.

Voted by:
Voted by tdream20