Warning: strpos() expects parameter 1 to be string, array given in /home/content/31/13976631/html/wp-includes/functions.php on line 4263
NHL's 'Original 6' and the Stanley Cup Finals, NHL | BallHyped Sports Blogs
Skip to Content

NHL’s ‘Original 6’ and the Stanley Cup Finals

NHL’s ‘Original 6’ and the Stanley Cup Finals

Hyped by on June 1, 2015 Website: www.statsontapp.com

The 2015 NHL Stanley Cup will begin Wednesday with the Chicago Blackhawks taking on the Tampa Bay Lightning. Chicago will be making their third finals appearance in the last six years, while the Lightning will be making their first appearance in the final since 2004.

Most die-hard NHL fans know that the six original NHL teams were the Boston Bruins, Chicago Blackhawks, Detroit Red Wings, Montreal Canadians, New York Rangers and Toronto Maple Leafs. With Chicago’s spot in the finals this year, it marks the third straight year that one of the “Original 6″ will play for the Cup, and the seventh time in the last eight years.

In 1967-68, the NHL expanded to 12 teams with the addition of the L.A. Kings, Minnesota North Stars, Oakland Seals, Philadelphia Flyers, Pittsburgh Penguins and St. Louis Blues. Since that season, covering 46 Stanley Cup Finals (there was no Stanley Cup in 2005 due to a lockout), one of the “Original 6″ has won 20 titles. Since 2000, the “Original 6″ have won five of the 14 titles.

Voted by:
Voted by tdream20